Rad Reading-October

In October, I read the book Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. Charlotte’s Web is a fantasy fiction about a pig named Wilbur and how his friendship grows with Charlotte the spider. Wilbur was a runt when he was born and was going to get killed, but a little girl named Fern Arable saved him and stopped her father from doing so and raised him up on a bottle.

What I loved about the book is how it’s really interesting so it makes you want to keep reading it more and more, but it also has emotional parts and it almost feels like you’re there! My favorite character is Charlotte because she is so kind and caring to her friends and she also is talented, intelligent, and calm.

Charlotte is caring and helpful to her friends and always puts them first. I know this because on page 51 it says “‘You shall not die,’ said Charlotte, briskly. ‘What?Really?’ cried Wilbur. ‘Who’s going to save me?’ ‘I am,’ said Charlotte. ‘How?’ asked Wilbur. ‘This remains to be seen. But I am going to save you, and I want you to quiet down immediately. You’re carrying on in a childish way. Stop your crying! I can’t stand hysterics.’”, and it also says on page 63, “‘Were you serious when you promised you would keep them from killing me?’ ‘I was never more serious in my life. I am not going to let you die, Wilbur.’… ‘I’d be only too glad to help in any way I can.’” These quotes show that Charlotte is caring and helpful because she is saying how she is going to save his life and is saying how she is happy too help him and work hard to find a way to make sure he stays alive. She also mentions how she was never more serious about her saving him. She also showing she is caring and helpful because she does everything in her power to help Wilbur, so he can live a long and happy life.

My favorite quote is when Charlotte says “‘Salutations!’” Because it made her sound intelligent and smart. I also liked that quote because then she explains what salutation means, “‘Salutations are greetings,’ said the voice. ‘When I say ‘salutations,’ it’s just my fancy way of saying hello or good morning. Actually, it’s a silly expression, and I am surprised that I used it at all…’”

One thought on “Rad Reading-October”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *